News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Zamarano and Massa win North Four-Ball

Briefly: First round leaders Ryan Zamorano and Bobby Massa of Dallas win the North Four-Ball at the Courses at Watters Creek. Massa, our 2022 North Four-Ball Champion, had a new partner this year. Teaming up with Ryan Zamorano proved to be a solid strategic move that resulted in a wire-to-wire championship win.   

Zamorano and Massa outlasted the teams of Colby Pickavance and Logan Liam of Dallas, and Sean Heidrick of McKinney and Kolton Crawford of Azle. These two teams finished at 16-under-par for the championship. 

Golf Course: Opened in 1986, the Traditions Course at Watters Creek, located in Plano, was originally designed by Robert von Hagge and Bruce Devlin. It was remodeled by D.A. Weibring and Golf Resources Group in 2012. 

Weather: Players were greeted with less-than-ideal conditions during Saturday’s round. The wind was relatively calm out of the North/Northwest as temperatures hovered around the low to mid 40’s with heavy cloud coverage throughout the day. Sunday’s round saw different playing conditions with slightly stronger winds out of the south and the temperature steadily rising from mid 50’s the upper 60’s by the afternoon. 

Top Finishers: Zamorano and Massa played consistent golf over the two rounds carding just a singular bogey on the scorecard between the two combined for a 36-hole total of 19-under-par 125. This is Massa’s second straight North Four-Ball title but first with Zamorano.  

The duos of Colby Pickavance and Liam Logan and Sean Heidrick and Kolton Crawford finished their second-round tying Zamorano and Massa for the low round of the day with a 9-under-par 63. Both teams played strong on Sunday, but with Zamorano and Massa’s first round of 62, they were extremely tough to catch.  

Finishing in a four-way tie for fourth place at 9-under-par, were the teams of Zach Atkinson and Brad Gibson, Alden Crissey and Will Strickler, Colby Amparan and Gary Ezmerlian, and Gant Bills and Scott Maurer. 

Regional POY: North Player of the Year points will be awarded to the top finishers at the 2023 North Four-Ball. The winning team will receive 400 points, followed by 250 for second, 200 for third, 150 for fourth, and 100 for fifth. Points will be awarded to both players on the team individually. For Regional POY information, click here. 

What’s Next: The North Regional Series will head to Rockwall Golf & Athletic Club for the 2023 North Mid-Amateur. The event will be played March 24-26.

Registration for the 114th Texas Amateur is currently open and will close on March 29 at 5:00 PM. For more information and to register for the Texas Amateur, click here 

More Info: The Texas Golf Association extends its sincere appreciation to the staff and members of The Courses at Watters Creek as well as our volunteers for their integral part in making the North Four-Ball a memorable and successful event. For more information on the North Four-Ball, click here.