News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship Set for June 7-9 

DALLAS – The Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship, the most prestigious all-boys junior event in the state, is set for June 7-9 at Lakewood Country Club in Dallas.   

“We’re excited to be back at Lakewood Country Club for yet another incredible year,” said Kevin Porter, the TGA’s Director of Competitions for North Texas. “Each year this field continues to get stronger. This year will include four players that will earn their spots through a Monday qualifier for the second time. And we are excited to welcome back two past champions to the field as well.” 

Veritex Community Bank, one of the leading financial institutions in Texas, is the title sponsor for the fourth consecutive year. Longtime Lakewood Country Club member and Veritex Bank CEO/President Malcolm Holland was a part of a small group that created the Byron Nelson Junior Championship in 1999. Veritex Bank is excited to be a part of this monumental tournament and just renewed its’ agreement as title sponsor for this event for three more years. 

“Veritex Bank is honored to be associated with such a prestigious junior championship,” Holland said. “We are committed to serving the game, promoting junior golf and hosting an excellent championship for everyone involved.”  

For the 22nd time Lakewood Country Club will serve as host to the prestigious junior event. Opened in 1912, Lakewood was designed by Tom Bendelow, a Scottish architect whose tremendous career included north of 400 golf courses. In 1947, Texan Ralph Plummer redesigned the layout. In 1995, the team of Ben Crenshaw and Bill Coore completed a facelift of Lakewood and then again in 2014. The par-71 layout plays from 6,750 yards and features Bermuda fairways and bentgrass greens.  

Throughout the years, the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship has crowned many worthy champions including Jordan Spieth, who won three times from 2008-10. Ryan Grider, the 2020 Texas Amateur Champion, and Pierceson Coody, part of the recent Texas Longhorn National Champion Team, are also past champions of this event.  

Along with those players, fellow past champions include Ryan Baca (2000-01), Alex Moon (2006), Eric Durbin (2005), Vincent Martino (2011), Justin Fraley (2002), Levi Valadez (2016) and Luke Dossey (2017). Past Champions Gaven Lane (2019) and Preston Stout (2021) are in this year’s field and looking to repeat as champions. 

Preston Stout won last year after leading wire-to-wire. He posted 6-under par for the tournament and claimed the title by two shots. 

The 84-player field will play 54 holes of stroke play competition. After 36 holes, the field is cut to the low 30 players and ties for the final round. The tournament is World Amateur Golf, Golfweek and Junior Golf Scoreboard ranked. Numerous AJGA performance stars will be handed out to the top finishers, including “Fully Exempt” status.  

For the second year in a row 42 players will compete for four spots in the Championship via an 18-hole qualifier on June 6.   

For more information on the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship, click here