News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

LJT Spring Preview heads to Historic Cedar Crest Golf Course Feb. 24-25

ADDISON – The Legend’s Junior Tour Spring Preview heads to Cedar Crest Golf Course on Feb 24-25 for the first time in its 19-year history.

 “We are excited to bring this popular event to a great course,” shared Tournament Coordinator Preston Vinzant. “The kids are going to play a great layout which has an incredible history. A lot of golfers know about Cedar Crest, and we can’t wait to introduce these kids to the history behind it.” 

 The Spring Preview is an 84-player field across three age groups. The high-talent field will compete over 36 holes of stroke play and add their name to a great list of winners. Previous winners of the Tournament include Will Zalatoris, Cole Hammer, Anne Chen, Hailee Cooper, Cole Sherwood, and Andrew Petruzzelli. 

 Cedar Crest Golf Course is located in South Dallas and opened in 1919. The former Country Club that turned public in 1946 was designed by A.W. Tillinghast who also is the creator behind Texas courses such as Brook Hollow GC, Brackenridge Park,  Dallas CC, Lakewood CC, Colonial CC, and Oak Hills CC. The course hosted the 1927 PGA Championship won by 11-time major winner Walter Hagen. The course also hosted the Dallas Open in 1926 won by Macdonald Smith and the USGA Public Links Championship in 1954. The course built a new clubhouse in 2001 and the course was eventually renovated in 2004 by D.A. Weinberg. The course remains a favorite amongst Metroplex golfers.

 Cedar Crest Golf Course is the creator behind the “I Am a Golfer Foundation”. Established in 2018, IAMGF’s mission is to be a “Catalyst for community renewal and transformation in South Dallas through Programming, Preservation, and Promotion”.  IAMGF has engaged over 650 areas of youth in instructional programming, created and hosted over 90 paid internships, and awarded more than $300,000 in college and higher education scholarships. For more info on the IAMGF click here. 

 In last year’s event at the Golf Club at Texas A&M, Andrew Petruzzelli of Dallas won the Boys 15-18 Division with a 13-under 129. Shyla Brown of Dallas won in a playoff against Maelynn Kim of Katy in the Girls 12-18 division with an even-par 142 total. Henry Jackson of Lantana won the boys’ 14&U division with a three-over-par 145.  

 The Boys 15-18 Division winner will receive exemptions into The Texas Cup Invitational, Bluebonnet Championship, Byron Nelson Jr., Texas Junior Amateur, George Hannon Jr, and the Texas Jr. Golf Alliance. The Boys 14& Under winner will receive exemptions into the Bluebonnet Championship, George Hannon Jr., and TX Jr. Golf Alliance. The Girls 12-18 Division winner will receive exemptions into the Bluebonnet Championship, George Hannon Jr., Tx Jr. Golf Alliance, and the 16th Texas Girls Invitational.