News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Zamorano and Massa Win Back-To-Back North Four-Ball Title

Briefly: Bobby Massa and Ryan Zamorano of Dallas win the 2024 North Four-Ball after finishing with a 123 21-under for the tournament. The side had nothing but smiles after winning back-to-back championships as partners. This is Massa’s third North Four-Ball title in a row. The partners will receive an exemption into the 2024 Texas Four-Ball.

Golf Course: Opened in 2000, Whitestone Golf Course was created by Jeff Brauer and Jay Morrish and stretches to just over 7,100 yards in Benbrook, TX. Brauer is also the creator behind Cowboys Golf Club and Tangle Ridge Golf Club in the Metroplex area. The elevation changes from tee to green throughout the course is what makes the course choose your shots wisely.

Weather: Players were greeted with incredible weather for the First Round. The morning started in the mid 50’s before climbing into the high 60s in the afternoon. The clear blue skies were mixed with a light breeze throughout the day with gusts hitting just over 10 mph. The Second Round brought stronger winds with gusts reaching up to 25mph. The Second-Round weather started in the High 50s before reaching the low 80s in the afternoon to finish the tournament.

Top Finishers: Zamorano and Massa of Dallas played dominant golf to win the title for the second consecutive year. Zamorano and Massa finished with a total of 123 21-under for the tournament. Their first round 56 included three eagles and nine birdies that separated themselves from the rest of the field. “Everything was going in,” shared Massa “We were seeing the greens well and hit some quality shots that helped us cash them in.” Zamorano and Massa shot a five-under 65 in the second round to help themselves finish with a commanding lead.

Finishing in second were the duo of Sean Heidrick of McKinney and Kolton Crawford of Azle after a 14-under 130. The side finished with seven birdies on the first day to move themselves into a strong position for the Final Round. Following behind in third was the duo of Scott Winslett and William McDonald of Dallas after a total of 12-under 132.

Finishing in a tie for fourth were duos Brock Mulder of McKinney and Nicholas Loar of Rockwall, Riley Goff of Grapevine and James DeLaGarza of Haltom City, and Marcus Jones of Argyle and Jeffrey Juillerat of Fort Worth, and all finishing with a total of 11-under 133. The Top 5 finishers and ties will receive exemptions into the 2024 Texas Four-Ball at Braeburn Country Club in August.

In seventh were the duo of Gary Ezmerlian and Colby Amparan of Fort Worth with a total of 10-under par 134.

Regional POY: North Player of the Year points will be awarded to the top finishers at the 2024 North Four-Ball. The winning team will receive 400 points, followed by 250 for second, 200 for third, 150 for fourth, and 100 for fifth. Points will be awarded to both players on the team individually. For Regional POY information, click here.

What’s Next: The North Regional Series will head to the Courses at Watters Creek for the North Mid-Am. The tournament is set for March 22-24.

Registration for the 115th Texas Amateur is currently open and will close on March 27 at 5:00 PM. For more information and to register for the Texas Amateur, click here.

More Info: The Texas Golf Association extends its sincere appreciation to the staff and members of Whitestone Golf Cub as well as our volunteers for their integral part in making the North Four-Ball a memorable and successful event. For more information on the North Four-Ball, click here.