News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Two Teams Share Lead at North Four-Ball

Fenimore/Schultz and Irving/Volpitto share Lead at North Four-Ball
Briefly:  Dru Fenimore and Jason Schultz as well as Josh Irving and Scott Volpitto lead the North Four-Ball with identical six-under-par, 64. Fenimore and Schultz caught fire to end their round with a birdie on holes 14 through 18. Irving and Volpitto were four-under on the front and two on the back to match the posted six-under total. The leading pairs both played their rounds without recording a single bogey. The top three is rounded out by Kip Estep, Rockwall, with Don Gafner, Dallas, and Chris Headen, Fort Worth, with Michael Samp, Irving who both shot rounds of three-under, 67.
T1. Fenimore, Dru / Schultz, Jason – 64
T1. Irving, Josh/ Volpitto, Scott – 64
T3. Estep, Kip/ Gafner, Don – 67
T3. Headen, Chris/ Samp, Michael – 67
T5. Griggs, Matthew/ Summy, Jase – 68
T5. Couture, Rob/ Lovell, Danny – 68
T5. Bills, Gant/ Ray, Michael – 68
Complete Results | Final Round Pairings
Golf Course: Located in Mansfield, Walnut Creek Country Club plays features 36 holes of challenging golf over the Pecan and Oak Courses. The championship golf being contested on the Pecan Course features fast and true putting greens that are well guarded by gentle mounding and bunkers. At par 70, the golf course played to 6,580 for the championship.   
Weather:  60 degrees and Sunny with consistent winds at 21 mph and Gust at 34 mph.
In contention: Rounding out the top five is Matthew Griggs from Keller with Jase Summy of Prosper and Rob Couture with Danny Lovell both from Dallas and Gant Bills of Plano with Michael Ray of Dallas. All three teams shot two-under, 68s which leaves them just four off the lead.
What’s Next: Final round tee times start tomorrow at 8:00 AM off both No. 1 & 10 tees. There will be a brief awards presentation for the winners following play.
More Info: For more information on the North Four-Ball, you can visit the tournament homepage here.
Full Leaderboard