News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Texas Women’s Stroke Play Set for June 24-26

Traditions Club at Texas A&M in Bryan will play host to the 7th Women’s Stroke Play for the first time this year. The championship, conducted by the Texas Golf Association since 2015, will take place from June 24-26.

“We’re very excited to bring the Women’s Stroke Play to Traditions Club,” said Amy Worthington, the TGA’s Director of Women’s Operations. “We are very thankful for the opportunity to bring another TGA Championship to this beautiful course.”

This will be the fourth overall TGA championship the Traditions Club has hosted.

The first was the 2014 Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play. That next year, the 39th Texas Four-Ball was contested at Traditions Club. In 2017, the Texas Women’s Amateur was played there. Finally, the most recent edition of Texas Shootout took place there in 2020.

Outside of TGA championships, Traditions Club hosted the 2009 NCAA Men’s National Championship. This past May, the Traditions Club hosted the NCAA Men’s Regionals Championship.

Home to the Texas A&M Men’s and Women’s golf teams, the 18-hole private golf course and residential community in Aggieland, was founded in 2004, co-designed by Jack Nicklaus and Jack Nicklaus II. Located in the Brazos Valley and in the center of 900 acres, you will find the notorious championship golf course. Traditions Club measures 7,121 yards from its longest tees with a par-72 layout.

Stately hardwoods frame the rolling terrain along Turkey Creek, which occasionally hides looming hazards. Natural creeks and wetlands adorn the property, from which Kyle Field is visible in spots.

“The course is a true testament of challenge and pleasure for those who will embark this championship,” Worthington said. “With the generous fairways and strategically-placed bunkers, the course is in perfect condition for a championship golf experience.”

The TGA accepted 84 players for the Women’s Stroke Play. Seven players were awarded an exemption into this year’s championship.

There is a large list of decorated players that are ready to compete in the 7th annual championship, including defending champion Emma McMyler of San Antonio. McMyler won last summer’s 6th Women’s Stroke Play at The Club at Comanche Trace by carding rounds of 74-66-72, a 4-under 212 total, to win by four strokes against Hailey Jones. She will look to win again for the second consecutive year and to become the first player to win this championship back-to-back.

Other top players from last year’s championship playing again this year include Auburn sophomore, Elina Sinz (T2). Sinz recently just competed in the NCAA Division 1 Women’s Golf National Championship and Sinz and her team just fell short in the semi-finals. Another top finisher, Camryn Carreon (T4), also competed in the national championship, instead she went as an individual, representing UTSA.

Sadie Engelmann of Austin, part of the Stanford team that recently won the NCAA National Championship, also is in the field for this year’s Women’s Stroke Play.

Also set to compete are Montgomery’s Hailee Cooper, who won the 2017 Women’s Stroke Play,  and Div. II All-American Faith DeLaGarza of Midland, a three-time Women’s Four-Ball Champion (2019, 2020, 2021) along with her partner Amari Smith.

The championship format is 54 holes of individual stroke play. The 30 players with the lowest handicap index must compete in the championship flight, while the other players will have the option to play in the championship flight. The players who wish to not play in the championship flight will be flighted into additional flights after 36 holes.

Live scoring updates, daily recaps, as well as tee-times and pairings, will be available on the TGA website once the action is underway from Traditions Club at Texas A&M.

For more on the 7th Women’s Stroke Play, click here.