ADDISON — The 103rd Women’s Texas Amateur will be held at Spanish Oaks Golf Club from June 25-28. Qualifying stroke play begins on June 25, with the low 32 players advancing to championship flight match play over the following three days to determine the champion. 

For the first time in the tournament’s history, Spanish Oaks Golf Club, located in Bee Cave, Texas, will host the second-oldest major on the Texas Golf Association schedule. The 103rd Women’s Texas Amateur aims to add a new champion to its prestigious list. 

“We are thrilled to host this prestigious tournament at Spanish Oaks Golf Club,” said Tournament Director Adam Schulte. “This is one of the best clubs in Texas and this year’s field includes past champions, NCAA National Champions, and accomplished youth players. It’s a great mix for what will be a great tournament” 

The winner of the 103rd Women’s Texas Amateur will join the elite list of names such as Betsy Rawls, Sandra Haynie, Betty Jameson, Babe Didrikson Zaharias, and many more.  

Designed by former PGA Tour architect Tom Weed, Spanish Oaks Golf Club opened in 2001. In 2016, Weed was brought back to make upgrades to the course, leading to its recognition as the third-best golf course in Texas by Golf Digest in 2015-2016 and remaining on of the crown-jewels of golf in all of Texas. 

“Spanish Oaks Golf Club sets up well for Match Play,” shared Schulte “The Hill Country terrain that runs through the course is special. From blind tee shots and native areas lurking, every shot will need to be precise.” 

For the first time, the Women’s Texas Amateur is now an official USGA Exemption Event. The winner of the 103rd Women’s Texas Amateur will receive an exemption into the 124th U.S. Women’s Amateur at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma, as announced by the USGA. 

“We were excited to hear the USGA’s announcement,” said Kristi Knight, Women’s Director of the Texas Golf Association. “It’s great for our talented Texas players to receive this recognition and opportunity. 

The championship format has been streamlined for this year’s tournament, eliminating consolation brackets. After stroke play on June 25, the top 32 players will advance to the championship flight, while others will compete in eight flights of eight players each. 

Following the 18-hole stroke play round, the tournament moves to single-elimination match play. Winners of the matches progress to the next round, with defeated players exiting the competition. At week’s end, the overall champion and eight flight winners will be crowned. 

In the 102nd Women’s Texas Amateur, Madison Le of Arlington claimed the title by defeating two-time state champion Sydney Givens in the finals 5&4. Le, fresh off from transferring to the University of Minnesota and competing in the 9th U.S. Women’s Four-Ball, aims to repeat as champion and be the second to do so in the last five years after Emma McMyler achieved the feat in 2021-2022.  

To learn more about the 103rd Women’s Texas Amateur, click here.