News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Ridglea Country Club to Host Women’s Senior Stroke Play Championship

FORT WORTH – The 2020 Women’s Senior Stroke Play Championship will be played Sept. 28-30 at Ridglea Country Club’s Family Course

The John Bredemus design was built in 1928 and features a traditional layout with narrow fairways and small greens. The 18-hole championship golf course was renovated by Ralph Plummer in 1954 and then redesigned by Jay Morrish in 1987. Despite its shorter length, the tree-lined fairways and sloped Tifeagle greens have withstood the test of time and demand accuracy over brute strength.

“We are very honored to be hosting this event,” Ridglea Head Golf Professional Scott Adams said. “As a father of two golfing girls, there is a special place in my heart for women’s competitions.”

Scheduled for 54 holes of individual stroke play, the 96-player field will be split into flights following Round 2 based on 36-hole scores. Though the entire field will compete for the overall Championship, there will be five separate divisions for the final round. Competitors between the ages of 65-70 will compete for the Women’s Super-Senior Stroke Play Championship, while players 71 and older will compete for the Women’s Super-Super-Senior Stroke Play Championship.

At the 2019 Women’s Senior Stroke Play, Anna Schultz of Heath claimed her third Women’s Senior Stroke Play title. The decorated amateur golfer carded rounds of 74-71-71 at Pebble Creek Country Club to hold off Marilyn Hard of Magnolia by three strokes. Marian Barker of Lubbock, who won the 2018 Women’s Senior Stroke Play, captured the Women’s Super-Senior Division with rounds of 74-74-75, while Pam Almandoz of Houston defended her title in the Women’s Super-Super-Senior Division.

Schultz, who was inducted into the Texas Golf Hall of Fame in 2013, is among this year’s field and is looking to win her fourth title. But there will be plenty of other decorated players on hand determined to make their own history. The list includes 2019 runner-up Marilyn Hardy, decorated amateur golfer Jewell Malick, 2018 Super-Senior Champion Jan Rapp and TGA President Leslie Henry.

“We are fortunate to have a large group of talented senior women golfers in the state of Texas and the TGA is looking forward to showcasing one of the premier clubs in North Texas,” Director of Women’s Operations Amy Worthington said. “This year’s field includes some of our best players who love competing at a high level and we are excited for a safe and competitive championship.”

For more information about the Women’s Senior Stroke Play Championship, click here.

ABOUT THE TGA: Founded in 1906 as the governing body of amateur golf in Texas, the TGA is an official representative of the United States Golf Association and the only licensed distributor of USGA GHIN Handicaps. We serve all golfers across Texas with elite competitive championships and recreational playing opportunities for men, women, seniors and juniors. The TGA is represented by hundreds of public and private facility Member Clubs throughout the state. It is our honor and responsibility to promote, protect and grow the game of golf on all levels. To learn more, click here.