News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

North Texas Classic Heads to Indian Creek Golf Club

ADDISON – The North Texas Classic is set to kick off the LJT Fall Schedule on Sept. 9-10. The 120-player field will take on Indian Creek Golf Club’s Lakes Course as the race for LJT Player of the Year ramps up. 

Fully renovated in 2019, the Lakes Course has new greens, fairways and cart paths. This nature lined course is a sanctuary for birds and golfers alike. A strategic approach here starts with proper club selection off the tee and players who can shape their shots will have an advantage. Tipping out at 7,000 yards, it’s a great course for players of all skill levels.  

The North Texas Classic is split into three divisions: Boys 15-18, Girls 12-18 and Boys 14 & Under. The champion of the Boys 15-18 Division will earn exemptions into the Texas Junior Golf Alliance Invitational, 2024 Texas Cup Invitational, 2024 Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship and 2024 Texas Junior Amateur. The champion of the Girls Division will earn exemptions into the Texas Junior Golf Alliance Invitational and 2024 Texas Girls’ Invitational. The Boys 14 & Under champion will also earn an exemption into the Texas Junior Golf Alliance Invitational. 

Including the North Texas Classic, only four LJT tournaments remain before the Player of the Year Points List will determine the teams for the Jackie Burke Cup, as well as the overall Players of the Year for each division. Garrett McMellon of Garland leads the Boys 15-18 Division. Joshua’s Kaylee Yuan leads the Girls Division while Henry Jackson of Lantana leads the Boys 14 & Under Division. 

Waco’s Corbin Null scored a four-shot victory in last year’s North Texas Classic with rounds of 66-67 to post 9-under for the championship.  

In the Girls Division, Sidney Robertson of Tyler won by two strokes after carding rounds of 69-70 and finishing at 3-under for the tournament. Robertson finished two shots ahead of Austin’s Darrelyn Webster. 

 Spring’s Asher Vargas won the Boy 14 & Under Division by an astounding 14 shots. Vargas fired rounds of 65-67 and finished at 10-under for the tournament. He had two of the three total rounds under par from the Boys 14 & Under Division in route to the record setting win. 

Null, Robertson, and Vargas add to the list of North Texas Classic past champions. It includes 2017 Texas Junior Amateur Champion Jansen Smith, 2019 Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Champion Gaven Lane, three-time LJT Player of the Year Hailey Jones as well as Zach Kingsland, Kaylee Vesely, Mark Reppe, Dawson Ovard, Jennie Park, Jun Min Lee, Cole Sherwood and Serena Shah. 

The first round of the North Texas Classic is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 9 with tee times starting at 8 a.m. off No. 1 and No. 10. The final round pairings will be redrawn according to scores from the first round and will begin at 8 a.m. on Sunday, Sept. 10. 

For more information on the North Texas Classic, click here.