News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Mike Booker Wins South Senior Amateur

PEARLAND – Mike Booker claims third South Senior Amateur title at Golfcrest Country Club after weather forced the first round to be finished before the final round Thursday afternoon. Mike Arnold claimed victory after a three hole playoff in the Super Senior division. This is the third South Regional Series presented by Impact Precision Golf of the 2017 Texas Golf Association season.
After inclement weather forced play to be halted Wednesday afternoon, the first round was completed Thursday morning with approximately two thirds of the field still on the course. Booker, of Houston, led after the first round at 3-under par 69. A final round score of 4-over par 76 gave him a one stroke victory over Craig Rumora, of Katy. Rumora opened with a 4-over 75 and rebounded with a 1-under par 71 to finish the championship at 2-over par 146.
Tied for third at 3-over par 147 were Richmond’s John Dowdall and John Pierce, of San Antonio. Houston’s Steve Moran rounded out the top five with a 6-over par 148.
Booker defended his title after winning last year’s South Senior Amateur at Cypresswood Golf Club and also was victorious in this championship in 2012 at Club at Falcon Point.
Arnold, of Windcrest, claimed his first South Super Senior division crown after a three hole playoff with Houston’s Chuck Reeve. The two finished the two rounds tied at 5-over par 149 and Arnold was able to make par on the par-three 12th hole to win. Ivan Lawson, of Cypress, finished alone in third place.
Arnold will add this title to the 2007 Texas Senior Amateur and 2013 Super Senior division of the Texas Senior Amateur to his growing TGA collection.
The staff at Golfcrest CC worked tirelessly to get the golf course into championship condition after the course took on almost four inches of water between Tuesday and Wednesday.
The Texas Golf Association would like to extend a sincere thank you to the membership and staff at Golfcrest CC for being gracious hosts of this year’s championship.
For more information about this year’s championship and results, please CLICK HERE.