News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

40th Texas Mid-Amateur Set for Sept. 29-Oct. 1

Midland Country Club will be the host site for the 40th Texas Mid-Amateur, the last of this year’s four men’s major amateur championships conducted by the TGA. The championship, which features the state’s top male amateur golfers aged 25 and older, is scheduled for Sept. 29-Oct. 1.

This will be the second Texas Mid-Amateur and 12th overall TGA championship to be held at the venerable West Texas club. In total, Midland Country Club has played host to six different TGA championships in its 96-year history, including the Texas Amateur, Women’s Texas Amateur, Texas Senior Amateur, West Texas Amateur, and Women’s Four-Ball. In addition, the club was also the site of the Tour’s (now Korn Ferry Tour) WNB Golf Classic from 2002-14.

“We are very excited to return to Midland Country Club for the 40th Texas Mid-Amateur,” said Chris Untiedt, TGA Senior Tournament Director. “To have the opportunity to conduct one of our major championships at such a great venue is truly special and we know the membership and staff will provide an outstanding experience for the players.”

Founded in 1927, Midland Country Club began as a nine-hole course with sand greens. The club moved to its current location in the mid-1950s with an 18-hole course designed by Texas Golf Hall of Fame member Ralph Plummer. The course has undergone several modifications through the years, and in 2017 the architectural firm of Weibring-Wolfard Golf Design completed a comprehensive renovation in time for the club’s 90th anniversary.

The 11-month, multimillion-dollar project included building all new tees, greens, bunkers, and water features to enhance and fortify the strategic elements of Plummer’s original design. The par-72 layout, which can stretch to 7,450 yards from the back tees, is spread out across 350 acres and presents an exacting challenge to even the most accomplished players.

“Midland Country Club has proven over time to be a formidable test of golf and we are certain it will once again provide a spectacular setting for this year’s championship,” Untiedt said.

The starting field for the 40th Texas Mid-Amateur will be comprised of 132 players who earned entry into the championship through an exemption category or successfully advanced out of 18-hole qualifying held at 14 sites statewide from July 17-Sept. 19.

Format for the championship is 54 holes individual stoke play. All contestants will play 18 holes Sept. 29-30. After 36 holes the field will be cut to the low 54 scorers and ties heading into the final round. In addition to the prize awarded to the overall champion, there also will be special recognition for the mid-master (players aged 40 and older) returning the lowest 54-hole score.

Starting times and pairings for the first and second rounds will be posted on the TGA website no later than Sept. 26. Live scoring updates and daily recaps will also be available online once the action gets underway from Midland Country Club.

The list of decorated amateurs who will assemble in West Texas is headed by Ryan O’Rear of Georgetown, who captured his second Texas Mid-Amateur title last year at Abilene Country Club’s South Course. O’Rear, whose first victory came in 2020 at Oak Hills Country Club in San Antonio, carded rounds of 66-69-70 to finish at 11-under-par 205 and earned a one-stroke victory over runner-up Zach Atkinson of Colleyville. Atkinson, a two-time TGA state champion (2004 Texas Amateur, 2016 Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play), also earned low mid-master honors.

Eight other past Texas Mid-Amateur champions will join O’Rear in the starting field. They are Frederick Janneck of Fort Worth (who won in 2021), Christopher Wheeler of Addison (2019), Colby Harwell of San Antonio (2017-18), Joshua Irving of Dallas (2016), Terence Begnel of Midland (2014), Clay Hodge of Tyler (2013), Rob Couture of Celina (2008), and Mike Booker of Houston (2003).

Among the other notable players competing are 2020 and 2023 Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play champion Aaron Hickman of Tyler and 2023 South Mid-Amateur champion Logan Thomason of Montgomery, as well as top finishers returning from last year’s championship including Atkinson, Colby Amparan of Fort Worth (5th), Trey Todd of Abilene (T6), Ryan Zamorano of Dallas (T6), Dan Depasquale of Austin (T8), Josh Pasco of Midland (T8), and Cole Wiederkehr of Fort Worth (T8).