News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

39th Texas Mid-Amateur Set for Sept. 23-25

Abilene Country Club will be the host site for the 39th Texas Mid-Amateur, the last of this year’s four men’s major amateur championships conducted by the Texas Golf Association. The championship, which features the state’s top amateur golfers aged 25 and older, will be held Sept. 23-25 on the South Course of the 36-hole facility.

“We are very excited to return to such an iconic venue as Abilene Country Club,” said Read Langhenry, TGA Tournament Director. “The club has been a tremendous supporter of the game at all levels through the years, and we know the membership and staff will provide an outstanding experience for the players as they compete for this prestigious championship title.”

Abilene Country Club’s South Course (formerly Fairway Oaks Country Club) opened in 1980 and was designed by Ron Garl and Charles Coody. The 7,136-yard, par-72 layout, with its narrow fairways, numerous water hazards and large, undulating green complexes, has proven from the outset to be a stern challenge for even the most accomplished players. From 1981-1990, both the PGA Tour and Senior PGA Tour (now PGA Tour Champions) made stops on the South Course, with some of the best ball strikers of the time notching victories, including Tom Weiskopf, Curtis Strange, and Hal Sutton.

This will be the first Texas Mid-Amateur and ninth overall TGA championship held at Abilene Country Club, which was founded in 1921. The historic West Texas club has previously hosted two Women’s Texas Amateurs (1957 and 1975), three Texas Senior Amateurs (1982, 1991 and 1996), and three West Texas Amateurs (2005, 2011 and 2021).

“On behalf of the membership, staff, and employees of Abilene Country Club, we are extremely excited and grateful to be the host facility of the 39th Texas Mid-Amateur Championship,” said Director of Golf Jimmy Tidwell. “The South Course has a long history of hosting prestigious events and challenging the best players in the game. We look forward to providing a great stage where the players can showcase their skills and we are confident that all participants will enjoy the test that the South Course presents.”

First played in 1984, the Texas Mid-Amateur is open to male amateurs who have a WHS Handicap Index® of 8.4 or less, will have reached the age of 25 on or before the tournament start date, and are current Texas residents.

This year’s starting field will include 132 players, who earned entry into the championship through an exemption category or 18-hole sectional qualifying at one of 14 sites across the state from July 20 – Sept. 12.

Format for the championship is 54 holes individual stoke play. All contestants will play 18 holes Sept. 23-24. After 36 holes the field will be cut to the low 54 scores and ties heading into the final round. In addition to the prize awarded to the overall champion, there also will be special recognition for the mid-master (players aged 40 and older) returning the lowest 54-hole score.

The list of decorated amateurs who will assemble at Abilene Country Club is headed by Frederick Janneck of Fort Worth, who won the 38th Texas Mid-Amateur at The Clubs of Houston Oaks in Hockley. Janneck carded rounds of 73-67-67 to finish at 6-under-par 207 and earned a three-stroke victory over runners-up Clay Fullick of Conroe and Aaron Hickman of Tyler, who also tied for low mid-master honors.

Five other past champions will join Janneck in the starting field. They are Ryan O’Rear of Leander (who won in 2020), Christopher Wheeler of Addison (2019), Colby Harwell of San Antonio (2017-18), Clay Hodge of Bryan (2013), and Beau Davis of Fort Worth (2011).

Among the other notable players competing in the 39th Texas Mid-Amateur include 2022 West Texas Amateur champion Casey Carnes of Schertz, 2022 South Regional Mid-Amateur champion Dan Depasquale of Austin, 2019 and 2021 Texas Senior Amateur champion Gary Durbin of Houston, 2021 North Regional Player of the Year Gant Bills of Plano, 2018 Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play champion Anthony Estorga of Dallas, and 2016 Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play champion Zach Atkinson of Colleyville, who also won the 95th Texas Amateur in 2004.

Live scoring updates and daily recaps, as well as tee times and pairings, will be available on the TGA website once the action gets underway from Abilene Country Club.