News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

2017 Texas Challenge

AUSTIN– The 2017 Texas Challenge will be held at the Harvey Penick Golf Campus in Austin on August 2nd. The Texas Challenge is a statewide competition that is part of the Winners’ Program—a golf and grades initiative for girls who are involved in their local LPGA/USGA Girls Golf Programs. Most importantly, the Winners’ Program and Texas Challenge promotes friendly competitiveness and gives girls the opportunity to learn sportsmanship and honesty through the game of golf. This year’s competition allows 36 young girls ages 9-17 to compete in none hole competitions.

The Texas Challenge not only encourages golf among young girls, but the event celebrates the late Toni Wiesner. At the age of 23, Toni Wiesner’s passion and love for golf began and she would go on to have a dominant career on the course.  Some of her highlights include representing Texas four times on the USGA Women’s State Team, winning the WTGA State Amateur Championship five times, and having the third “Most Wins” in WTGA history. Although Wiesner accomplished great things on the course, Toni is celebrated for her attitude, sportsmanship, and love for the game of golf. At the conclusion of the Texas Challenge, the winning team is awarded the Toni Wiesner Cup in her honor.

This year, the Texas Golf Association has added a new division called “The Babe” Division in addition to the Toni Wiesner Division. This division was named after Mildred “Babe” Didrikson Zaharias who was one of the founding members of the LPGA. A Texan herself, she won more than 40 LPGA Tournaments and excelled in many other sports. She remains an inspiration to female athletes and is an important person in the history of women’s golf in Texas.

This new division will consist of two girls from each site who will play a 9-hole scramble format. The Texas Challenge will take place on August 2nd with five following sites participating: Austin, Houston, Longview, San Antonio, and Waco. Last year, Longview won the 2016 title and took home the Toni Wiesner Cup. We look forward to having them back to defend their title in 2017.