News from Around the Green

The latest golf-related news, notes, and feature stories from the TGA.

Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship Set for June 6-8  

DALLAS – The Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship, the most prestigious all-boys junior event in the state, is set for June 6-8 at Lakewood Country Club.    

“This event is always exciting to be a part of,” said Scott Davidson, Tournament Director. “Lakewood is a spectacular host for the elite championship, and the field gets tougher each year. This year will include four players that will earn their spots through a Monday qualifier for the third time. We’re also excited to welcome back two past champions to the field.” 

Veritex Community Bank, a leading financial institution in Texas, is the title sponsor for the fifth consecutive year. Longtime Lakewood member and Veritex Bank CEO/President Malcolm Holland was a part of a small group that created the Byron Nelson Junior Championship in 1999.  

Holland indicated Veritex Bank is excited to be a part of this monumental tournament and renewed its’ agreement last year as title sponsor for this event through 2024.  

“Veritex Bank is honored to be associated with such a prestigious junior championship,” Holland said. “We are committed to serving the game, promoting junior golf and hosting an excellent championship for everyone involved.”   

For the 23rd time, Lakewood will serve as host to the prestigious junior event. Opened in 1912, Lakewood was designed by Tom Bendelow, a Scottish architect whose tremendous career included north of 400 golf courses. In 1947, Texan Ralph Plummer redesigned the layout. In 1995, the team of Ben Crenshaw and Bill Coore completed a facelift of Lakewood and then again in 2014.  

The par-71 layout plays from 6,750 yards and features Bermuda fairways and bentgrass greens.   

Throughout the years, the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship has crowned many worthy champions. That list includes Jordan Spieth, who won three consecutive times from 2008-10. Ryan Grider, the 2020 Texas Amateur Champion, and Pierceson Coody, part of the recent Texas Longhorn National Champion Team, are also past champions.   

Along with those standouts, fellow past champions include Ryan Baca (2000-01), Alex Moon (2006), Eric Durbin (2005), Vincent Martino (2011), Justin Fraley (2002), Levi Valadez (2016), and Luke Dossey (2017). Recent past Champions Gaven Lane (2019) and Preston Stout (2021 & 2022) are in this year’s field looking to repeat as champions.  

Stout, who successfully defended his title last year, has an opportunity to join elite company in 2023. If Stout can cap off the “threepeat,” he will tie Jordan Spieth’s record of three consecutive Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship victories.  

Earlier this month, Stout spoke about his thoughts heading into the championship.  

“It’s always in the back of my head (tying Jordan Spieth’s record),” he said. “It definitely makes me work harder. I won’t try to focus on it once the tournament comes, but yeah, it’s in the back of my head for sure.” 

The 84-player field will play 54 holes of stroke play competition. After 36 holes, the field is cut to the low 30 players and ties for the final round.  

The tournament is World Amateur Golf, Golfweek, and Junior Golf Scoreboard ranked. Numerous AJGA performance stars will be handed out to the top finishers, including “Fully Exempt” status. 

For the third year in a row there will be an 18-hole qualifier on Monday, June 5. Four spots into the championship will be up for grabs. For more information on the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship, click here.