Doris Kallina/’Nez Muhleman Scholarship

The TGA Foundation awards a $25,000 scholarship to a deserving female every four years.


The scholarship is named for Doris Kallina and ‘Nez Muhleman, two women who for many years have given their time, energy, and resources to promote women’s golf in Texas. Both served as past presidents of the former Women’s Texas Golf Association (now merged with the Texas Golf Association) and also have long and distinguished legacies with the USGA as volunteers, committee members and officials.

Their contributions to the game of golf have benefitted countless women and girls and their dedication, character and lifelong connection to golf are attributes that the TGA Foundation Scholarship Program endeavors to honor and encourage in the next generation of young women.


The next Doris Kallina / ‘Nez Muhleman Scholarship to be awarded will be in 2027. This will be awarded to a high school senior or a freshman in college. Applications will be accepted January 23, 2027 – March 5, 2027. The winner of the scholarship award will be announced on April 5, 2027.

Scroll down to learn more about the Doris Kallina / ‘Nez Muhleman Scholarship application policies and procedures.


  • Applicants must be female and a U.S. Citizen with a residence of record in Texas.
  • Applicants must demonstrate participation in an organized junior golf program.
  • Applicants may not be the immediate family of any current TGA Director, Women’s Committee member or substantial contributor to the TGA.
  • Applicants must have completed (or plan to complete) high school prior to the award year and must be enrolled (or planning to enroll) as a full-time student at an accredited college or university located within the United States. A full-time student is defined as one who is taking 12 or more hours in a course of study leading to a traditional associate (2 year) or baccalaureate (4 year) degree or considered a full-time student by her respective institution.
  • Applicants’ cumulative grade point average must be at least 2.75 on a 4.0 grading scale.
  • The application must be completed in its entirety and signed and dated by both the applicant and the applicants’ parent(s) or guardian.
  • Applicants must demonstrate participation in extracurricular activities.
  • Applicants must provide two (2) letters of recommendation, one being from school staff.
  • Applicants must provide two (2) personal references which may be contacted during the selection process. At least one of the references should be a peer.


    The Doris Kallina / ‘Nez Muhleman Scholarship will be awarded based on a review of four primary criteria as demonstrated in the following application and attachments:

    1. Academic proficiency (Section II)
    2. Desire for higher education (Section III)
    3. Honors / Extracurricular activities (Section IV)
    4. Participation in organized junior golf program (Section V)

    A cover letter, the completed application and all required attachments must be submitted electronically no later than 5:00 PM CST on March 5 of the year being applied for. The TGA Foundation Committee will review all submitted applications and recommend a recipient for approval by the TGA Foundation Board of Directors. The successful candidate will be notified no later than April 5.


      1. The four-year total value of the Doris Kallina / ‘Nez Muhleman Scholarship is $25,000.
      2. $3,000 will be awarded to selected scholarship recipient in the first year.
      3. The award is given annually, and renewal must be applied for each year according to the guidelines set forth in the Renewal Procedures section. The scholarship is committed for up to four (4) years to the selected scholarship recipient in increasing amounts each year as follows:
      1st Year 2nd Year 3rd Year 4th Year
      $3,000 $5,000 $7,000 $10,000

      NOTE: Scholarship funds will only be disbursed to a university or previously approved third party and will not be paid directly to the selected scholarship recipient.


        1. This scholarship may be renewed annually for the applicable amount (as above), not to exceed a period of four years. The recipient must request renewal no later than June 1 annually.
        2. The renewal applicant must provide current contact information for recipient and family contact.
        3. The renewal applicant must provide a transcript for the prior year (must have completed at least a full-time class load and maintained at least a cumulative 2.75 GPA on 4.0 scale).
        4. The renewal applicant must provide a brief narrative summary of prior year college experience and future plans for use in Women’s Committee and TGA Foundation communications.
        5. Renewal may be denied to any candidate failing to meet any of the above requirements.

        NOTE: If a candidate fails to apply for or gain renewal during the term of the scholarship, all remaining years of eligibility will be forfeited, and applications will be opened for new candidates.

        For any additional questions about the Doris Kallina / ‘Nez Muhleman Scholarship, contact Kelly Kilgo, Managing Director of TGA Foundation/Outreach, by email at



        2023 Recipient


        2019 Recipient


        2015 Recipient